Fuel Efficiency gauge

Dallas_6o4

Hey guys, I’m new to Jeep coming from Euro car, I have a question concerning the fuel efficiency gauge(green line) that reads out the efficiency of gas you give to accelerate that’s located in the middle of the dashboard(it’s like a half moon). So for my Jeep it accelerates from right to left, being that the green line moves to the left the less amount of times I accelerate. However upon idle it sits at the far right and shows a reading of “current 99” in terms of fuel efficiency. Now I no mechanic, but shouldn’t this green line move from left to right and not right to left? As it’s suppose to only determine how efficient you drive your vehicle so on idle it should sit on the far left(just like your needle for speed), then move to the right the more you give gas, the more the green line should move to the right, thus the higher the number of fuel being efficient. The lower the number the green the line, the higher the number it’ll turn yellow(meaning most likely poor fuel efficiency). You would think, but mine reads the opposite way.
Any tips to if my Jeep is a different version based on where it was made or is this just some error and someone along the QC production line coded this wrong and it’s backwards?

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
This is really keeping you up at night? Does it really even matter?

If it does, no, it is correct. You can idle forever if you never use the throttle. It doesn’t know you aren’t moving it just knows that at that RPM the engine can run forever.

Upvote 0

Dallas_6o4

This is really keeping you up at night? Does it really even matter?

If it does, no, it is correct. You can idle forever if you never use the throttle. It doesn’t know you aren’t moving it just knows that at that RPM the engine can run forever.