Beadlock or tire issue

SnailTrail

I have a set of slabs that I have been running for the last several years with no problems for the most part. Since the end of last winter I have been having issues with all of them losing air. When I take the wheel apart I see that there are a bunch of inserts are low and not seated properly. They're seized in there atm from all the salt they put on the roads here. This ring also has a little corrosion but not too bad. Could the air leak be from the inserts not sitting flush or maybe not putting the tire back on in the exact spot and the ring indents not lining up? Could the lip of the tires be messed up? With all the wheels doing it, it makes me think its the wheels.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Typically, air loss comes from ring bolts not being tightened down enough. It can also happen from the bead folding over on the wheel when being seated. Excessive flashing can cause leaks as well. If the tire is old, not enough pressure from the rings, even at proper torque can cause leaks as well. in this case, placing a thin rope on top of the bead so that it's sandwiched between it and the ring will help provide more pressure to seal the leaks.

SnailTrail

I would guess its from the tires then. Up until now I never had an issue with them losing air. Tires are roughly 3 years old. Cooper STT with maybe 40k on them. They still have good life to them as far as tire depth goes. Im just debating getting new set of non beadlcok wheels since Im back to daily driving it, or new tires. I would hate to get tires and they still leak.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member