Savage JK Build

SavageMonkey

I would like to preface the following by stating that I am a complete novice with a mechanical ability of a preschooler!!! In fact, I believe a preschooler has more mechanical abilities than I possess.... (Hi... I'm Eric and I am not mechanically inclined...) OK Step 1- CHECK!!! Admitting the problem is the first step in recovery!!!

I have been reading the threads and have to say that each one is unique and amazing in their own right. I am trying to suck up as much informations from the forums as possible, to make the best informed decisions on my JK build. I thank you all who have previously posted and share your knowledge and skill with the less adept (ME!!)

That said, what I believed would be a sprint to building a killer JK is looking to me like a marathon. So I am asking the WAL Community for assistance in my build. I have the ability to work as much over time at my job as I want and plan on killing it this winter. I figure 12-16 hours a week (which I can get and do no problem) will get me an extra $9k by April.

My question is where do I begin first? Tires, Lift Kit, Body Amour, Bumpers, Lights...... For a novice it becomes extremely overwhelming fast!!!! Do I focus on the smaller items and work up or start big and work down?

THANKS!!!!

olram30

Not That Kind of Engineer
I would buy quality parts. Me, I'd go with skids, rock rails, recovery gear first. Drive it around and enjoy it..then decide what you need next, what size of tires you desire? Get a quality lift based around your tire size.
Some other good advice is to buy once and cry once. I've seen people buy lift,tires, winches and other stuff and just replace them within a few months.
Good luck with your build.

Last edited:
^^x2

If you can find some local Jeepers who have different lifts to see what you like not only to the eye but comfort and on road and trail. This will help yo figure out what you want.