Rock and a hard spot

Oreo_penguin536

I know there are a lot of gun guys here and I need some help! I’m looking into buying my first AR and I’m dead locked between the Sig m400 elite and the m&p sport 2. Does anyone have any HANDS ON experience with either of those platforms? It’s going to be a sport carbine competition/home defense rig.
I’m not a new shooter but I am new to the AR platform and just don’t have the knowledge to make a good decision.

Be advised I know absolute jack s*** about their components so bare with me.

Plus for Sport 2 is the price point and it comes with sling mounts.
I would need to add a holograph/red dot combo sight, off camber iron sights( 45degree cant), new front rail (thing that goes around the barrel with attachment rails, right?)
Est. Price- $890-950 OTD

Plus for the Elite is it feels lighter, comes with a Romeo red dot and it feels “right”, plus it looks damn sexy. But holy hell I literally bought my truck for the cash I’d drop on this thing out the door.
I would need to add sling mounts, an off camber iron sight set up (the 45degree cant sights) at the time of purchase. I might buy a different holographic/red dot combo to replace the Romeo.
Est. Price- $1600 OTD.

I’m looking for something that I can keep and use for years without worrying about reliability. I’m not going to go Barbie girl and throw a bunch of useless junk on it for plinking, only stuff I’ll use and train/compete with. With that being said I’d like to keep the option open to nerd out for when I have a midlife crisis[emoji23].

I have zero experience with Sig and minimal with S&W mainly because I’ve never needed to contact them with anything for my pistol however I’ve been reading equal things on both guns, good and bad.

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

SLO