Lifting a JL

WJCO

Meme King
Stock DS hits exhaust and cross bar. Metalcloak’s DS just barely cleared at full droop on the lift. Metalcloak has a ton of flexibility with their long shocks/springs
I'm new to the Jeep thing, but seems to me like this is the only 2.5 inch kit requiring a new driveshaft that I've heard of. Tons of other manufacturers have figured out how to build a kit without replacing the front driveshaft. With that being said, metalcloak has always been one to advertise how well-endowed their shock length is. So maybe that's why they're the odd one out 🤷‍♂️

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
I'm new to the Jeep thing, but seems to me like this is the only 2.5 inch kit requiring a new driveshaft that I've heard of. Tons of other manufacturers have figured out how to build a kit without replacing the front driveshaft. With that being said, metalcloak has always been one to advertise how well-endowed their shock length is. So maybe that's why they're the odd one out 🤷‍♂️
That was my guess. Shocks design for 3-5” lift. Coils probably unseat enough to remove them.

In regards to that stupid crossmember that likes to get in the way of driveshafts I couldn’t tell you the last time I had one on my Jeep. Not sure it does much other than hit rocks and get in the way. 🤷🏼‍♂️

trailraider

Driveshafts are fine and will serve you well for quite some time. Just keep an eye on them. The stock JL ball joints leave a bit to be desired. Synergy makes a good replacement as does American Iron Off-road.