Short arms vs long arms

whispike

It was recommended to me by a local shop to go with Currie full shorts arms over a long arm kit. Mainly to help center my axles in the wheel wells, get the caster right and they said it would allow 11 inches of rear travel. What are some of your thoughts on this?

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

TrainWreck618

Caught the Bug
It was recommended to me by a local shop to go with Currie full shorts arms over a long arm kit. Mainly to help center my axles in the wheel wells, get the caster right and they said it would allow 11 inches of rear travel. What are some of your thoughts on this?

Long arm or short arm won't change your performance off-road. Long arm kits help more with on road handling not off road. The Currie arms are great quality, I would recommend those arms.

TrainWreck618

Caught the Bug
My bad.. It's early. I read your post wrong. You said 3.5 long arm.. I read that as 3.5 mid arm, which blows. I have no experience with RK long arm kit, and it's a good possibility there long arm kit with kings rides very well down the road. There mid arm on the other hand...

MR.Ty

Token East Coast Guy
And by the way it's on a 2014 JKU with 3 inch springs.

The shop is kind of right, you don't need long arms on a JKU with only 3in of lift. The only down side will be a "flighty" feeling at highway speeds. That can be mitigated by adding a drag link flip kit. At the same time, swapping your control arms alone won't increase your flex. The amount of travel mostly depends on the length of your shocks.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member