JL Rear License Plate Relocation Options

cinnur

Hello All,

I am currently working on preparing an aftermarket bumper for my JL, as most such bumpers it does not have a location for a rear license plate. There are many options, but I favor the plate in the middle of the spare with the brake light and camera as part of the kit.
Would anyone have experience with kits that are easy to work with when needed?
What I mean by that when needed, you have that unfortunate time when you have to exchange to that spare wheel and you are happy that the kit is easily disconnected, bolts, cables, and all!

Have Fun,
Sean

CalSgt

Hooked
Someone gave me a spare tire license plate bracket that I have been using for about 2 years... I never did wire the license light or figure a decent 3rd brake light for it. Its a little bit of a PIA to use a wrench to pull it off before accessing the lugs on the spare, also the special lug nuts that the bracket mounts to are a different size than the existing factory lug nuts and the bolts that mount the bracket. I have to have 3 sizes of sockets/wrenches to get the spare off.

Its a PIA but not enough for me to do something else, I just deal with it.

After I installed my EVO spare tire carrier I sent them an idea for a better back up cam mount, 3rd brake light, license plate mount combo. They said they would consider it.

Andy5160

Hooked
At a quick glance, is this is what you are referring?
I will review later when I have more time to look in detail. Hopefully it includes quick connects and releases.
The one you are referring to is for Rusty's tire carrier which is awesome. You'll need part# JTM3001.
No, it does not come with quick disconnect. You'll need to loosen up two bolts to remove it and have your own harness made with quick connector for the license plate lights. Literally will take a minute or two to remove.

Lperdue