Death Wobble question

Chairokey

OK Guys, I just inherited my sister inlaw's 96 Jeep Cherokee, and she told me she had issues with the front end shaking really bad when she drives on the highway. It doesn't do it all the time. in fact when she got it here, I took it out and drove it to 70 mph for a few miles and it drove fine. She said she took it to a couple different mechanics and both of them said it probably just needed an alignment. I have no experience with death wobble, and i'm a far cry from a mechanic (kind of the reason I picked this up), but I decided to take a look at it and see If I could find anything obvious. I'm not mechanic, so maybe the guys she took the Jeep to knew something that I don't, but this definitely looks like a candidate for the front end shaking. Now obviously this needs to be replaced, but my question to you all is do you think this is probably the soul reason for the front end to shake at highway speeds? or is there something else I need to look at?

next, this looks like a project that wouldn't be too difficult to tackle with a jack and some wrenches, am I going to get into over my head?

and lastly, I found some replacement parts for only 16-20 dollars on a website called partsgeek.com. this seems awfully cheap because usually my repairs cost alot more than that :p is there a website/brand that i should try to stick to when ordering jeep parts? thanks guys, any help is appreciated

photo(4).jpg

Attachments

• photo(3).jpg
    photo(3).jpg
    58.4 KB · Views: 117

TrailBear

Sounds more like a track bar, I have had mine come lose, driving down the road hit a bump and the front wobbles real bad once I slowed down it stopped. I would check that first, the pics you took are of the sway bar links, they will cause it to have more body roll in hard corners at speed.

Chairokey