Back Country Skiing Thread

sm31

I'm a long time downhill skier & former ski patroller but I've never given the back country thing a solid try... until now. Although technically I guess I still haven't. Lol... The mountains around here are already covered, so I'm hoping to get my first turns within 2 or 3 weeks.

Since I live in the middle of back country heaven, I figured it was time to remedy the situation. I'm waiting on the arrival of my new LaSportiva tech boots, BD climbing skins (going on my DPS Wailer 106's), and a set of Atomic "Shift" bindings since I still want to be able to use these skis with my alpine boots. The gear should be here in a couple of days and I'll post pics, first impressions, etc.

As a total noob at this, I thought I'd start the thread to catalog my experiences & hopefully hit up some advice from other back country skiers that are probably lurking on the forum... 🍺

WJCO

Meme King
I've never done backcountry skiing but I've done many backcountry hiking, climbing, and camping trips. Survival, preparedness, and 'planning on spending the night' are key. Anything can happen out there. Just make sure you have 72 hours or so worth of supplies in your pack including a decent shovel.

jeeeep

Hooked
seems like a lifetime ago since I've been downhill or backcountry skiing.

For backcountry, friends and I always hit the 1st snowfall usually with skis we didn't give a crap about since the covering was 4" or less, then took out the better sets once the pack increased but still before the resorts opened. Climbing skins were known as snake skins and well, yeah, everything about the sport now makes me feel like a dinosaur lol

Rule #1 Never go alone, let people know where you plan to ski, carry a beacon (much more common these days) and make sure it's freshly charged but as a former ski patroller you know the importance of that.

decent shovel, lightweight but functional survival gear.